h1

Plants and FLowers Everywhere

May 11, 2009

Today Mr. Dragon and I went to a local plant nursery, which is run by a very nice Indian lady.  I grew some starts of a Contorted Mulberry for her so she wanted me to try my hand at starting a few other plants.   As a result my patio is filled with water containers, holding plant starts.  There are more Contorted Mulberries, yellow thornless roses, Guava, a Southern version of Lilac, and something called a Beauty Plant.  I also took some starts from my Indian Feather plant to give her.  While we were there, we also bought various Petunias, and several varieties of Begonias (angel wing, dragon wing and freaky, Dr. Suess looking thing).  Needless to say when I got home I was a transplanting fool.  Maybe I can get some pictures up of them later.  So anyway, that’s how I spent my day.

Contorted Mulberry

contorted mulberry

Indian Feather

indian feather

Dragon Wing Begonia

dragon wing begonia

Angel Wing Begonia

angel wing begonia

Guava

guava

Beauty Bush

beauty bush

5 comments

  1. I really liked the Indian Feather and Beauty Bush. Very pretty.


  2. Is the Guava a fruit producer like the ones here in West Central Fl.? If they are closely related,you have to protect them from freezing temps.I have Guava trees 15ft tall that produce yellow meat fruit,and others that yield red. They both make excellent cobbler,pie and jellies.The Begonias do real well here,as well as the wild Mulberry’s. I have never seen the Indian feather or beauty bush that I can recall. Hope you have success with your plantings.


  3. RT, The Indian Feather is one of my favorites, someone also called it a type of butterfly bush.
    Diller, Yeah, they do produce fruit. Although it looks like I might have a time getting them started. However the Mulberrys and Yellow Roses and Beauty Bush are doing fine.


  4. I can see that my weed-eater is sorely needed.


  5. Now we know what happened to your hair. lol



Leave a comment