h1

Losing My Religion

November 14, 2016

In the past, when there were elections, our reverend simply said for us to vote our conscious.  I had always admired that.  Allowing us to remain as one, despite our differences.  Conservatives versus progressives, rich versus poor was never an issue the entire time I’ve been going to our church. Then things changed. During this whole election process our reverend became very outspoken, politically speaking. Things started to change. Cliches began to form. Adult formation became a chance to push agendas.Then political memes, or rather, memes aimed at a certain political party began showing up on our church FB page. So I’m here to say that I’ve had enough. Look, not judging is a fine thing, but rewriting the Bible to go along with  a political point of view is another.  God is supposed to change you, not the other way around. I can be a bit of a hermit occasionally, disappearing for short periods of time. Every time I came back, it was worse. I soon realized that those times were becoming more frequent and lasting longer. So here I am saying goodbye, I guess, to my church home. I will miss it. At least the way it was.  I was married there, and there was a time when it was the most comfortable I had ever felt in a church. What a waste.  What a shame.

Leave a Reply

