h1

Happy Valentine’s Day!

February 14, 2014

I hope everyone had a wonderful Valentine’s Day.  Mine was…interesting.  For starters, I’m feeling a bit better.  I still have a cough and my nose is like a faucet, but other than that, hey, I’m doing good.  Oh, and there’s the fever too.  And the headache/neck ache.  OKAY, so when I say a bit better I really do mean a bit.  But I managed to scrape myself off of the couch and patch myself up long enough for the hubby to take me to dinner.  Dinner…ahhh yes. It sounds so simple, doesn’t it?  You walk in, you order food, they bring it and you pay.  That’s how it normally goes, right?  Not tonight.  Now at this point some of you might want to refer back to our anniversary dinner post entitled “I got screwed at the Holiday Inn, for a refresher course on what happens when the hubby and I eat out.  Tonight my husband took me to a local establishment that is usually a buffet, but just for Valentine’s Day it decided to turn into a full service restaurant.  Earlier in the week my husband called me from work and wanted some input on what we wanted from the menu.  That way they would KNOW AHEAD OF TIME what we wanted to eat.  So I made my selections and the hubby made his and we eagerly awaited our lover’s feast. That night as we entered the establishment we didn’t know that instead of the Lovers Feast, we were about to get the Gitmo special.  Jesus.  It’s a good thing we paid for it ahead of time.  Or we wouldn’t have made it to dessert.  First it took us forever to get our drinks. The hubby had tea and I had coffee.  But then, our appetizers came out quickly and I thought the drink thing had been a fluke.  Sure, half the tables were empty and they DID know our orders ahead of time, but hey, things happen.  But that’s not correct.  THINGS happen when you accidentally spill the drink you’ve already gotten and you need a tissue to wipe it up.  SHIT happens when you order your food days in advance only to have to wait for your initial drink, get confused by a fast appetizer and then watch tumble weeds blow past the freakin’ table as you wait for a refill and your main course.  SO, I saw the coffee urn just sitting there on a serving cart and asked the hubby to go get me a refill.  Holy shit, you’d have thought that we had committed a cardinal sin.  After that I told my husband that the rest of the night was going to be like the dirty fork sketch from Monty Python’s Flying Circus.  I was partially right. The main lady came over and apologized and asked if we needed anything (Oh, you mean like our food and a cup of coffee??), but the waitresses seemed slightly pissed.  I mean, it’s not like I yelled “Hey bitch, get me some coffee” or anything, I just had my husband go get it. Well EXCUSE me, I didn’t realize we were dining through the Great Coffee Drought of Valentine’s 2014.  When dinner and then our dessert finally got there, the mousse was supposed to be served in a chocolate basket.  OR in my case (since they were pissed) a half a chocolate basket. Really?  Who lets that leave the kitchen?  What’s next a horse head?  After dinner we went to the local coffee shop and I got a perfect Caramel Macchiato (or however you spell it).  It was awesome. End of story.  We really should start ordering in.

2 comments

  1. Never, ever go out to eat on Valentine’s Day or New Year’s Eve. And when a place makes you pre-order and pre-pay – RUN LIKE YOUR HAIR IS ON FIRE! Just my double pennies.


    • I sure wish I had known that before dinner, but now I know better. Eating out used to be such a simple thing.



Leave a Reply

