h1

Play That Funky Music

April 18, 2012

The following events are true, the names have been changed to protect the guilty…
My oldest daughter’s new boyfriend flew into town today, and we were looking forward to meeting him, BUT apparently she had other plans. You see my daughter is at the tender age of 24 and is, of course, embarrassed and horrified by everything that we are and do. So, she decided to try and keep our contact with him to a minimum-that is until fate stepped in.
My phone rang and I saw that it was my daughter.

Me: Yes?

Daughter: Are you guys decent?

Me: Yeah, I’d say we’re decent but we’re naked. Why?

Daughter: Seriously, are you guys presentable?

Me: Are you guys coming over?

Daughter: Yeah, we need a screw driver to hook up the game system. DON’T embarrass me, and don’t embarrass him, he’s shy!

Me: Okay, okay. bye

I immediately ran over to Mr. Dragon and my sister.

Me: Hey, Jessica is bringing her boyfriend over and she’s all paranoid we’re going to embarrass her. I mean, it’s not like we’re sitting around in overalls and playing dueling banjos.

Mr. Dragon: My banjo is at the office, but I do have my mandolin and a straw hat. (runs off)

Sister: We should black out our teeth.

Me: I could smear lipstick all over and black eye makeup.

Mr. Dragon enters wearing a straw hat, and holding a mandolin (I’m not kidding). Our youngest daughter comes down and begins to giggle.

Now fast forward to the front door opening and my daughter steps in with new boyfriend in tow. They see Mr. Dragon wearing a large, straw gardening hat and playing the Beverly Hillbillies theme song, while I yell “YEEHAW”. The look on my daughter’s face was priceless. She threatens to leave and looks at us accusingly, but we quickly blame it on our youngest daughter (“So Tess, did you feel the “woosh” as that bus ran you over?). Ahhhh…good times.

4 comments

  1. Funniest damn thing I ever read! Really.


  2. Hehehe…It was a beautifully executed burn.


  3. That’ll teach her – just go to a Home Depot and BUY a screwdriver -crisis averted!


  4. No kidding! lol You live, you learn.



Leave a Reply

