h1

My First Chemo Treatment

January 13, 2012

So yesterday I had my first chemo treatment, and although it took about 5 and 1/2 hours to get through it, get through it I did. I didn’t get sick or feel bad, however I did feel sleepy and kind of fuzzy. Today, I woke up feeling like I had a slight hangover and dehydrated, without all the embarrassing moments a real hangover comes with. lol Also, my face and neck are red/flushed. I have a new list of supplements and pills to add to my growing pill collection, and it’s a good thing that I’m sucking down water like I was in Death Valley, because I’m sure my kidneys could use the help in flushing everything out of my system. BUT, having said all of that, I feel great. I got up, put away the clean dishes, loaded the dishwasher, fed and watered the dog, AND I even found time to dance a bit. I have my trusty bottle of water sitting next to me (5th one today) and a cup of coffee on the other side. I think I’m going to have to be very careful about my mouth. It feels very dry, and I keep holding water in my mouth to wet it down. I’ve had a lot of work done on my gums and teeth, and I don’t want to lose the progress in that area. So anyway, that’s the report. I’m feeling good and I thank God and all of the people who are praying for me for that. 🙂
I would like to add this little bit. I can feel the chemo working on my body and I can see where people would find it easy to slip into depression and let feeling bad take over. But I refuse to let that happen. It’s much better to fight and go on with a normal routine. You don’t notice the effects hardly at all that way. I refuse to be sick. And with God’s help I won’t be.

6 comments

  1. This is good Penny. Sounds like you tolerated it very well. I have a friend who just got his first chemo about 2 months ago. He did not do well at all. They had to even admit him, he got very very sick.

    You are going to do great!!


  2. I’m so excited that things are going this well. And, you know, I have that tan I always wanted. lol


  3. Keep on keeping on! I’m so glad it wasn’t totally obnoxious. A lot of it really is attitude and boy, howdy, you don’t have a problem with that!


  4. Attitude I have plenty of, patience at being ill, not so much. lol


  5. You’ve taken on zombies, so this should be a walk in the park. Praying for a speedy recovery.


  6. If it’s not one thing eating away at your body, it’s another. lol So far, so good. Sometimes my muscles twitch, ache and feel a bit weak, but not all of the time, and it’s not stopping me from doing what I got to do. 🙂



Leave a Reply

