h1

And treatment begins

January 10, 2012

So the treatment center called and I’m scheduled to start chemo this Thursday. In preparation for losing my hair, I went wig shopping today and managed to find one that’s cut is very similar to my own. It’s pretty dark, but then again my natural hair color is too. I haven’t had hair that dark in a while, so at first it was kind of a shock putting it on. What was also shocking was the rainbow colored, afro wigs that Mr. Dragon attempted to get me to try on. All they were missing was the big red nose and clown shoes.
I also got the cutest knitted cap for days when I’m around the house and don’t feel like messing with a wig. I also figure that since the threading on it is light, it will be cool enough to wear when it gets warm out. I also have decided to scrounge up one of my Halloween zombies to put my wig on when I’m not wearing it, mainly because it cracks me up but also because I don’t have a spare head to set it on.
In the meantime my list of vitamins and supplements keep growing. Every morning I take the following…
CoQ10
Soy
B12
Gano Excel Supplements (from mushrooms)
Aloe Vera juice
Gummy multivitamin
And they must be working. I have a ton of energy, my skin hasn’t been this soft or glowing since I was a teenager and I just feel really good. Now we’ll just have to see if this feeling can endure the treatment plan.

7 comments

  1. Penny,

    I’m sure the vitamins are great, but your vibrant spirit glows by itself! I’m in prayer for you, John, and the doctors that the cancer will be totally destroyed!


  2. Thank you Joanna, I know the prayers are really working. I really do feel better than I’ve felt for a very long time. Shoot, I have so much energy I feel like a race horse with no where to run. lol


  3. I love that you’re using a zombie to hold your wig. That’s awesome! All of the vitamins have really helped my daughter, along with some of the other kids we talk to at the chemo clinic.Stay positive and don’t lose that sense of humor. My thoughts are with you.


  4. I mean, is it not perfect? lol I can just see me styling it while on the zombie. I might have to have Mr. Dragon take a picture. lol


    • Please do! I think it would be great 🙂 Do you remember those barbie heads they came out with for kids to style the hair and makeup? You may have something here with the new zombie craze. You could make a zombie head for kids to style. Of course, you need to make sure that yours works out first 🙂


  5. That is a great idea! lol


  6. Wishing you all the best in the days ahead.
    My daughter lost all her hair from the first chemo. It grew back, then she lost it all again when she had cranial radiation. It didn’t get a chance to grow back before she had chemo for the bone marrow transplant. After that, her hair never grew back – they think the cranial radiation might have been to blame. Anyhow, she wore hats and wigs for a while, but eventually decided to be a bald person – a badge of honour for surviving it all.



Leave a Reply

