h1

Christmas War…

November 28, 2011

So, to ensure that my neighbors don’t think I’m a total heathen (my Halloween extravaganza) I usually attempt to do some sort of Christmas display this time of year. Of course, it’s not nearly as elaborate as my Halloween display, but the decorations I do have are pretty good. Anyway, on Thanksgiving I began to set out a few things, nothing big, a few small pre-lit trees, a penguin sitting on a present, lights on the gazebo. The next day I noticed our neighbors put up a few lights. That same day I decided to put up our two, five foot candy canes to make a sort of arch-way entrance, as well as our inflatable Santa and some lighted garland around our door. The next day our neighbors put up more lights and made them flash off and on. They also added some cute candy cane pathway lights. Hmmmm…I was beginning to think there was some kind of competition going on, so I decided to lay off for a few days and see what happened. Nothing…that’s what happened. Okay, I was mistaken. So deciding it was all in my head, this weekend I set about putting up our large, and at one time, elaborate and fairly expensive snowman, hung some wreaths, and made a garland and Poinsettia roped off area in front of the house. I then added red rope light to this, and put giant candies in our flower boxes and then lit them up.
While I was taking a break I happened to look over at our neighbors house and noticed a freakin’ 16 foot inflatable snowman in their yard. Good God, when did they get that?? It wasn’t there the other day! Even my fading snowman has his arms thrown open in a exasperated “WHAT THE Ffff?” That’s okay, wait until they see my secret weapon, a 3 foot, lighted, blow mold gingerbread house! And if they top that, I guess I’m going to have to go with a living nativity. I sure hope it doesn’t come to that, I have a feeling my grandson won’t have the patience to be swaddled.

Leave a Reply

