h1

Christmas Eve

December 24, 2010

So it’s Christmas Eve and I’m sitting here wondering, where did the time go? I remember the kids being little and being so excited that I could barely get them off to bed. I finally would tell them that Santa couldn’t fill the brightly wrapped packages until they hit the sack, and if they stayed up too long he’d pass the house and might not make it back. That would do it, they’d scramble off to bed to make sure that didn’t happen. Thinking back makes me smile and sad at the same time. It seems like it was yesterday. Normally I’m pretty dry eyed, in fact in my family I’m known as the Ice Queen because I never cry at sad movies (I hate chick flicks!) etc.,but when it involves my kids I get all sentimental. Even for a life-hardened dragon. The way I feel right now, I guess, has to do with seeing Christmas from the eyes of my children, or rather, the way they used to see it. And that’s a hard thing to give up, the magic of it all. I mean, it’s still special, it’s just now that they’re grown, all of that “special” is filtered through the eyes of adults. It makes it a bit tarnished. BUT I don’t want to dwell on it and snivel too long, after all, I have a Grandchild that can take up the slack and breathe some magic back into it. And maybe the real Christmas magic is this, it is born into our hearts and we pass it into the hearts of our children, and they, to their children.

2 comments

  1. Kyle will be ten in January, and as I seen him getting older, I worry about the Santa situation. I think when that comes and goes, so goes some of the Christmas magic.

    That’s why the wife and I decided to have, what, 36 kids? Who can keep track of them all?

    Have a Merry Christmas, P! Make the most of the day.


  2. Thirty six kids…lol I didn’t think you and the missus had quite that many.
    Merry Christmas to you and your family S, I hope it’s a wonderful one.



Leave a Reply

